- Fireworks & Explosives
- Fireworks Industry
- Fireworks Permits
- Display Operator Permit
Display Operator Permit
Pursuant to K.A.R. 22-6-24(a), each person who operates an outdoor display of display fireworks, as defined in K.A.R. 22-6-1, shall obtain a permit from the office of the state fire marshal.
Access the application for a new display operator permit (PDF) or a permit renewal (PDF). The permit is valid for four years.
The permit holder shall keep original permit on his person at all times while working with/around display fireworks. A copy of the permit will not be accepted as valid proof if questioned by authorities.
- An applicant must be at least 21 years of age.
- An applicant cannot have any felony convictions.
- A criminal history check will be done.
- Applicant must assist with 3 displays within 4 years under a display operator who has a valid Kansas permit at the time of the displays. The licensed display operator who holds a Kansas Operator's permit must sign off on each of the displays, and permit status at the time of the shoots will be double-checked.
- Applicant must pass a written examination administered by the Kansas State Fire Marshal's Office by receiving a score of 80% or above.
- Applicant cannot have any felony convictions
- A criminal history check will be done
- Applicant must have conducted three fireworks displays within the past four years while holding a valid permit
- Signatures from local jurisdictions or organizations sponsoring the display are required on the renewal form
- Applicant must pass a written examination administered by the Office of the State Fire Marshal by receiving a score of 80% or above
Each permit holder must comply with National Fire Protection Agency 1123 and all local, state, and federal regulations, statutes, and laws.