Elevator Safety Program
The Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM) provides administrative assistance, education, training and awareness within the State of Kansas to ensure public safety when operating an elevator.
Elevator means any device for lifting people or moving people, cargo, or freight within, or adjacent and connected to a structure or excavation, and includes any escalator, power driven stairway, moving walkway or stairway chair lift.
Registration of all elevators must be submitted on forms provided by OSFM. Registration will include, but is not limited to, the type of unit, contract load and speed, name of manufacturer, location and the purpose for which it is used. There is no fee to register an elevator.
The Kansas Elevator Safety Act requires that all elevators, which include: elevators, escalators and conveyances, subject to the provisions of the Act be registered with Office of the State Fire Marshal. Failure to register with the OSFM may result in a penalty being assessed as prescribed by law.
Any owner, operator, lessee or its agent is responsible for obtaining an annual safety inspection witnessed by a state-licensed elevator inspector. The inspector must be licensed by the OSFM and possess QEI (Qualified Elevator Inspector) certification or approved equivalency.
Upon receipt of an approved safety inspection and test data, the division will issue a Certificate of Operation for the respective equipment. No elevator shall operate in Kansas without a Certificate of Operation. Certificates of operation shall be clearly displayed on or in each elevator or in the machine room for such elevator. Each certificate of operation shall state that the elevator has been inspected, tested and found to be in compliance with all applicable standards of operation. Violation of this section may result in misdemeanor criminal charges.
New Installations and Alterations
The Elevator Safety Act also requires the Office of the State Fire Marshal to issue an installation or alteration permit upon review and approval of plans for new installations or alterations.
Kansas Elevator Installation Application
Kansas Permit to Alter Existing Elevator Application
- Permit can only be issued to a Kansas licensed elevator contractor
- $400 fee
K.S.A. 31-133(c) The rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this section shall allow facilities in service prior to the effective date of such rules and regulations, and not in strict conformity therewith, to continue in service, so long as such facilities are not determined by the state fire marshal to constitute a distinct hazard to life or property. Any such determination shall be subject to the appeal provisions contained in K.S.A. 31-140, and amendments thereto.
In areas with no elevator equipment code in effect prior to July 2022, the annual inspection and witnessing of applicable tests shall be performed according to the code that should have been in effect when the equipment was installed.
Click on the tabs below for specific licensing information and applications.
Any Individual, firm, partnership, corporation, association, or other entity wishing to engage in the business of installing, altering, servicing, replacing or maintaining elevators shall make application for an elevator contractor's license. Licensee shall pay OSFM the required application fee of $500. Licenses must be renewed every two (2) years.
Any individual wishing to engage in the business of inspecting elevators. Licensee shall pay OSFM the required application fee of $250. Licenses must be renewed every two (2) years.
Any individual wishing to engage in installing, altering, repairing or servicing of elevators. Licensee shall pay OSFM the required application fee of $150. License must be renewed every two (2) years.
An individual who works under the supervision or general direction of the licensed elevator mechanic. No license is required in Kansas for an elevator apprentice.
Licensed Elevator Inspectors, Contractors and Mechanics in Kansas
Elevator Advisory Board Meetings
We will respond to elevator consultation requests in the order received. Please provide code footprint, plans, photos or any other documentation required for us to provide accurate answers to your question(s). All questions on status of plan reviews should be emailed to OSFM Elevator Unit
- Does the office of the state fire marshal have adopted Rules and Regulations for the Elevator Safety Act?
- If I own an elevator must I register it with OSFM?
- When do I need to apply?
- Who must apply?
- What database is being used?
- Why are contractors, mechanics, and inspectors now being required to become licensed?
- Will the OSFM have elevator inspectors?
- Will there be a 3rd party Inspector License?
- How much will the license cost?
- Will your office list licensed contractors, mechanics, and inspectors that have been certified?
- Will Compliance Engine be offering training for Inspectors?
- What elevator code is being enforced in Kansas?
- Are all elevators and installations inspected to the ASME A17.1-2019 code?
- What if the City or County has an Elevator program, what is the procedure?
- How do I receive my operating certificate for my elevator?
- Do I have to fix inspection deficiencies?
- How often is a state inspection required?
- What is the cost of an elevator inspection?
- What guidelines or procedures are required for the inspection?
- After completion of the inspection who do I contact to get information on how to correct any violations?
- If violations cannot be corrected within the 30-day time frame, can additional time be provided?
- When is a re-inspection required?
- How much time will I be allowed to have before I must be in compliance?
- How do I decommission an unused elevator?
- How do I know if my hydraulic elevator has a single bottom jack?
- If my elevator has a single bottom jack what are my options to ensure compliance with the ASME A17.1-2004 code.
- If I select one of the options rather than replacing the single bottom jack will this prevent me from having to ever replace the single bottom jack?
- Who can perform work on a single bottom jack?
- Why am I being required to comply with the 2004 code?
- I have heard there may be potential of Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regulations in connection with single bottom jacks?
- Why require the single bottom jack to be changed before a hydraulic oil leak occurs or the jack fails?