Kansas Firefighter Recruitment & Safety Grant

The Office of the State Fire Marshal has suspended the Kansas Firefighter Recruitment and Safety Grant program and the Get Alarmed Kansas smoke alarm program. 

We were forced to suspend these two programs for the current state fiscal year, July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021, as our current level of available funding could not support them, and the legislature did not appropriate the additional needed funds for the grant program in our budget.

 Next session, it will be a priority of our office to request additional funding from the Insurance Premium Fund to include $400,000 for the grant program and to re-establish the Get Alarmed Kansas smoke alarm program. If the legislature approves that funding, we can reinstate the important programs in July 2021. 

Our office will be asking for the support of the fire service to contact their local legislators and share with them the importance of adding the additional funding in January when the session begins. It would be especially impactful for those departments who have benefited from the grant and/or smoke alarm programs to share their stories with their legislators personally. 

firefighter flame wall

Fiscal Year 2020 Grants Awarded

This year, close to $1 million in requests from 76 departments were submitted to the Kansas Firefighter Recruitment and Safety Grant program. Fire departments received approximately $330,000 to be used for safety gear, $70,000 for 20 washer/extractor machines and $600 for an Explorer Junior Firefighter program initiation and startup fees. This grant was made possible with the 2019 State of Kansas budget passed by the state Legislature. Due to the high number of requests, OSFM will be requesting the 2020 Legislature continue funding this important grant.

“These no-match grants make it possible for small volunteer and part-time fire departments to purchase gear and equipment that is vital for the recruitment and retention of firefighters in their communities,” Doug Jorgensen, State Fire Marshal, said. “And we know that small communities in Kansas rely heavily, in some cases solely, on their volunteer fire department for their public safety.”

Fiscal Year 2020 Grant Awards


The Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM) is providing no-match grants to volunteer/part-time fire departments across the state for personal protection equipment (PPE). This includes bunker or wildland gear (coat, pants, helmet, gloves, hood and boots) and new masks for Self-Contained Breathing Apparatus (SCBA) units for department members. Funding will be available for physicals not covered by the individual's insurance or reimbursed by their department, as well as for the purchase of strategically placed washer-extractor machines throughout the state.

Fire departments, especially small rural volunteer departments, are struggling with the recruitment and retention of firefighters because they don’t have funding to provide safety equipment. This leaves potential volunteers with not only donating their time but faced with providing their own safety gear or doing without.

There have been several line of duty deaths from heart attacks in Kansas before and after responses and during training. The OSFM would like to provide grants to local departments to assist in paying for physicals that could identify underlying issues so that they could be treated and, ideally, decrease the number of firefighter deaths.

  1. Kelly Ingold

    Public Education & Outreach
    Phone: (785) 291-3586


Applicants must be an established and recognized Kansas volunteer/part-time fire department in good standing with OSFM on the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) or a volunteer firefighter in good standing with their local fire department. Departments must also participate in the Comprehensive Resource Management & Credentialing System (CRMCS).

Grant Schedule

October 1, 2019 
Applications are due in our office no later than 4 pm.

November 29, 2019            
Awards will be announced, by this date or sooner.

March 31, 2020                      
Requests for reimbursement due in our office no later than 4 pm.

Eligible Expenses

Firefighter Safety Equipment Examples

  • Bunker or Wildland Gear – including coat, pants, hood, boots, gloves, and helmet
  • SCBA Masks
  • Washing machine (extractor)
  • All gear/equipment must meet or exceed current NFPA standards.
  • All gear/equipment would become property of the requesting department and not of the individual for whom it was requested.

    Junior Firefighter Program

  • Explorer and National Volunteer Fire Council (NVFC), Junior Firefighter programs for initiation fees up to $500 and start-up fees of $100.
  • This program is available to ALL fire departments in the state.


  • Physical must be compliant with NFPA 1582 standards.
  • Physical costs not covered by insurance or reimbursed by their department.
  • This program is available to ALL fire departments in the state. 


Submission Instructions

  • A completed KFRSG application must be submitted prior to the deadline and contain all required information.
  • Submit by the deadline of October 1, 2019, applications are due in our office no later than 4 pm.
  • Neither purchases nor verbal/written contract obligation can be made prior to the date of the grant award.
  • The request must meet the stated guidelines of the grant.

    Submission Checklist

  • Complete entire KFRSG grant application and justification information, and submit – required.
  • Submit a minimum of 2 vendor quotes for all equipment items requested – required. The exception is for those submitting applications for an extractor machine, only, as OSFM has the contract with the vendor for purchasing and installing these machines.

Reimbursement Process

Firefighter Safety Equipment

  • The department orders, pays for and receives the approved equipment
  • The department submits to OSFM no later than March 31, 2020:
    • W-9
    • Itemized invoice(s) and packing slips
    • DA-130 Form
  • OSFM reimburses the department for costs up to the approved amount


  • The firefighter receives and pays for their physical
  • The firefighter submits to OSFM no later than March 31, 2020:
    • W-9
    • Itemized invoice(s)
    • DA-130 Form
    • Proof their insurance did not cover the costs